Review: Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

Yay! I have officially read all the books (out) by Ruta Sepetys! I did hear she’s writing another one, hopefully about World War II.

Out of the Easy, however, wasn’t about World War II like Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Grey. In fact, it’s about the time period right after, the 1950s in the French Quarter of New Orleans.

The main character, Josie Moraine, has just graduated high school and is working in a bookshop with her best friend, Patrick. She carries a secret with her: her mother is a prostitute working for the famous (for New Orleans) Madam Willie. Josie wants to escape that lifestyle and her horrible relationship with her thief of a mother, so she lives in the small apartment above the bookshop and hopes to attend college someday. When a strange man comes into the shop telling her exactly what she wants to hear, her life turns around.

Jesse is a college boy selling flowers to earn extra cash in New Orleans. He lives with his superstitious grandmother and rides a motorcycle.

So basically, who wouldn’t want to date him?

I loved the characters of Jesse, Patrick, and Josie. What surprised me the most? I actually loved Willie as well. I also loved the girls working for Willie, no matter how sad their lifestyle. Sweety and Dora always melted my heart.

As far as characters go, there was a surprising amount of them. You had those main ones, you had Charlie (Patrick’s father who sadly suffered mental deterioration), Charlotte (a rich college girl who randomly befriends Josie), and Mr. Lockwell (essentially a creepy man who gives you chills every time his name was mentioned).

I feel that I owe Charlotte a paragraph. She was raised by an awful family who lived solely by social standards, and she was able to escape that and become her own person. She was also an avid reader, English major at Smith college (prestigious women’s college, able to PILOT AN AIRPLANE, and was kind. I wish the friendship of Charlotte and Josie was able to connect more, like if they lived closer.

I also wish I got to know the character of Charlie before he came old and sick. Patrick and Josie talked about him in the sweetest, most respectful way. He must have been a wise gentleman.

I hated the character of Cincinnati. He was basically after Josie and stole away her mother, Louisa. Although, her mother was no better in that aspect.

One thing I often notice about books is that every word on every page is there for a reason. I found that Ruta Sepetys included a lot of unnecessary parts in the book, and it surprised me.

Please tell me someone else noticed Patrick might’ve been gay?!?!?

imgres.jpg

There’s nothing wrong with getting a little beside the point, but it was just an observation. I thought it made the book rather cozy and detailed.

Ruta Sepetys never ceases to amaze me.

Short and sweet blog post for you guys 🙂

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

