Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Book 2 of the Throne of Glass Series.

418 pages of pure emotion.

A novel I flew through.

17167166.jpg

I’m sorry I suck and forgot to take one of my artsy book pictures with it before I gave it back to my friend. But don’t fear, I started Heir of Fire yesterday and took a really cool picture. Look forward to the awesomeness.

I must tell you something. Typically, I am not a huge fan of the second/third books in any series. I find them hard to get through, and they never seem to live up to the first one. Unfortunately, Crown of Midnight was slightly less amazing than Throne of Glass.

I’m sorry, it just was. But it’s still worth four and a half stars! 🙂

four and a half stars

Now that Celaena is the King’s Champion, things start to get interesting. I mean, what kind of person would she be if she ACTUALLY killed the people she was paid to kill?

So many secrets are kept, and of course the little love triangle continues to torture me.

However, this book comes with a twist. There’s something hidden, something life-changing, and what person other than Celaena is left to find it?

One night, an awful tragedy happens that changes everything.

And of course, the very last page in the book reveals one of the most shocking plot twists in the entire series so far!

There’s so many little things within the big picture, which is one of the things I love most about this book.

I have to admit I was always rooting for Celaena and Dorian, but I was more than happy when Chaol spoke up about his feelings for her. Now, I am so glad  her and Dorian are done for good. What on Earth was I thinking during Throne Of Glass??? Obviously Chaol is the better guy.

She is still the coolest female fictional character ever.

I love all the new stuff, too. Like the character Mort. He is literally a talking doorknob. Can you get cooler than that?

I do think that with this sequel, the series has more of a direction it’s going in. While before, it was about Celaena finding freedom while killing people, now it’s also about magic and love and betrayal, and Celaena has to find Wyrdkeys. (Once again, it’s reminding me of Harry Potter!)

I do think Celaena has been through so much crap, and I’m hoping things look up for her in the end.

Honestly, parts were so brutal and bloody and fantastic, and others were tender and sexy and happy. Maas has developed so much as a writer, and I really can’t wait to see what the rest of the series has to bring.

 

Leave a Reply

