Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I told you guys there would be a review up really soon! In yesterday’s post, I mentioned I was about halfway through. Well, I finished today and I’m currently reading the next book in the series illegally in an online pdf…

Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Page Count: 405

Series: Book One of the Throne of Glass series

IMG_6550.JPG

I’m going to start out by giving this fantastic book five whopping stars.

img_6290

My friend lent me her copy of Throne of Glass, and right from the first page I fell in love with the story and the main character, Celaena.

When the novel opens, Celaena is a slave taken away from her death camp to meet with the prince, Dorian. He’s giving her a second chance. She’s known as Adarlan’s Assassin, and even though she’s just 18, she is the most well known killer.

The King needs a new Champion, and Celaena is selected to compete against 23 men to win. Yup, she is the only girl. She’s taken to the palace, where one man wins her affections and another protects her. A new friend is made when the Princess of Eyllwe visits.

Soon, Celaena discovers that the banned magic of the world is still playing a large role in life, and there’s an evil force in the castle she must help rid.

Surprisingly, parts of Throne of Glass reminds me of Harry Potter. I know, leave it to a Potterhead to relate everything to Harry Potter, but it’s true! I mean, the way the champions had tasks in order to win reminded me of the Tri Wizard Tournament.

But that’s not the only reason I loved the start to this beautiful series, I promise. It’s just such a… comfort book. Like comfort food, but in book form. If you need warmth and cuddles and happiness, pick it up. Just because the main character is an assassin doesn’t mean she isn’t totally awesome and sweet. Sure, she’s a bad girl, but she also loves reading and music and eating.

Another cool thing I found out is that the author, Sarah J. Maas, starting writing it when she was still in high school. Go, Sarah! It kind of gives me hope that my own works will be published and famous someday.

Something I do when I’m reading a book is try to figure out what parts they originally wrote and what parts were added in during the editing process. It’s pretty weird, I know. In a way, I could tell which parts Maas wrote during high school, and which parts she wrote towards the other end of the decade it took to get her book published.

There are things I randomly think of while reading, and I’m like “ooh, I really want to mention this on my blog!” Since this is easily one of my new favorite books, I wanted to spend some more time talking about it on here.

The way Celaena’s past still haunts her yet she is still the strongest female character I’ve ever been introduced to gives me chills. She survived an entire year in a death camp, and if that’s not hardcore, I’m not really sure what is. Is there anything that Celaena can’t do? I’m not totally sure. Everyone was pretty shocked when she busted out the ole piano tunes, but I wasn’t. And Dorian couldn’t wrap his head around the fact that she loved reading, but for me it was just another thing we had in common.

And I can’t forget her little puppy, Fleetfoot. I saw him as a symbol that Celaena was beginning to be accepted as a permanent member of the castle. I also viewed the dog as a connection between Celaena and Dorian.

I love finding symbolism in books. Isn’t it the coolest?

Another symbol I picked up on is the castle itself. Part of it is made of stone, and part of it is made of glass (hence the title, Throne of Glass). I think this shows there is loyalty within its walls as well as betrayal. Evil and good. Bad magic and good magic.

I can’t wait to find out what happens in the rest of the series.

I’ve said this about a few books before, but I’ll say it again because it may just be the greatest compliment you can give a book: it. kept. me. distracted.

I spent hours with my nose in Throne of Glass. I was so enticed.

“You could rattle the stars.”

There were also plenty of noteworthy quotes folded within. 😉

I love love love this book! There is absolutely nothing negative I can think of. As a reviewer, that is really saying something.

Celaena’s life in the castle was an object of envy for me. I mean like, she woke up in her own little apartment, had what I assume was an amazing tasting breakfast, got ready with the help of a maid, and then went to beat up dudes for a few hours as her “training.” Then, she spent her afternoons in the castle library or exploring or going on walks with the PRINCE.

I want to kiss a prince!

Only if he’s handsome and nice, though.

Which I can assure you Dorian is.

You know how you wish you could live a day in the life of your favorite book? This book brought me so many of those emotions! I could just cry all day about it.

I feel like I cannot express this enough. Ugh.

I guess that’s it for now, then. Please expect a new post soon and leave some comments. I know some of you guys love Throne of Glass.

cyaaaa

Leave a Reply

