Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Hey girls and guys! I’m sorry it’s been a little while since the last time I posted. I’m making plans to post something really soon that isn’t a review. But I do have one for you today.

Have you read it?

Title: The Young Elites

Author: Marie Lu

Page Count:355

My review: 2 1/2 stars :/ Two-half-stars

The cover really isn’t spectacular, but I did take an artsy picture of the book, so here you go:

FullSizeRender

There’s a really cool app that lets you put ’90s filters on your pics! But anyways…

The Young Elites starts off mysteriously, with a survivor of the deathly fever… Not only was she one of the rare kids to live, but she has a “power.” They all do.

The government is convinced these poor children are bad luck and bound to go on killing sprees, just because of the supernatural abilities. They’re deemed “malfettos,” which I think is Italian for bad luck (but please don’t quote me on that!).

And what’s a teen novel without a special protagonist? Of course Adelina has the ability to create illusions!

She’s also pretty wicked. The book begins with her killing her terrible father (I mean, she wasn’t trying to! But he was selling her off to be a mistress).

Ooh! There’s also lots of flashbacks to her past, where she lived with her father and sister, Violetta. The dad was awful and mean, and he favored Violetta just because she was NOT a malfetto. He abused poor Adelina.

So, she’s about to be executed for the murder of her father when the Young Elites save her. That’s what the group of superpower children who survived the fever are called.

I forgot something! Everyone, well that is, every malfetto, has a marking. Adelina’s is her silver hair, but she’s also missing an eye (unrelated to her power).

The Young Elites whisk her off to Fortunata Court, where they begin to train her and eventually accept her as her own.

But of course, something always has to go wrong!

Honestly, I only gave The Young Elites a rating of HALF the stars possible, because it just seemed like a silly idea to me. Many parts didn’t make sense, or they were overdramatic. There was also this one really gross aspect to the novel that I’m not going to talk about on here.

Overall, I don’t really recommend reading it unless you’re really into that type of story.

I’m sorry if this was a disappointing review! The book was disappointing.

But good news! I started Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, and I’m halfway through. I LOVE IT!!!!!

Expect a 5-star review really soon!

Thanks for reading! Let me know what book you’re in the middle of.

Leave a comment