Review: Girl Through Glass by Sari Wilson

Title: Girl Through Glass

Author: Sari Wilson

Page Count: 286

Publishing Company: Harper Collins

****I received this book as an ARC from Harper Collins****gtg3.png

As soon as I opened the package from the mail, I was extremely excited. The cover art attracted me immediately, as well as the description on the inside of the jacket.

Girl Through Glass alternates between the late 70’s/early 80s and present day. I loved reading the sections told through 11-year old Mira’s perspective as she grew up in the 1970s New York City. To add more depth to Mira’s character as she goes through her parent’s divorce, she is a talented ballet dancer accepted to the prestigious School of American Ballet (SAB). As she is working hard to become the ballerina of her dreams, Mira meets an older man named Maurice, the only person she trusts during the difficult time of her life. Maurice is a balletomane, also described as Mira’s mentor and “friend.” Mira’s life is changed as her relationship with Maurice grows inappropriate.

Meanwhile, in present day, Kate is a professor of dance who embarks on a nostalgic journey through New York City when she receives a mysterious letter from a man she long thought to be dead. Or is she really running away from a risky affair that could potentially ruin her career?

Are you wondering how Mira and Kate could possibly be related?

I breezed through the first half of the book in hours. The first chapter amazed me. It really did. And there was this one part from the first half of Girl Through Glass that touched me, to the point I started reading it aloud to my friend’s and family.

Absorbed I was for quite a while with this gorgeously-written novel.

And then it started to get weird…

By the end of the novel, I was pretty creeped out, not that it’s exactly a bad thing. I understand how certain events supplemented the story. But Sari Wilson is more of a romantic writer, and I think when she creates something like this, it becomes too awkward and hard to read. Cringe-worthy perhaps? I think she was much better at describing the world of dance than creating this story.

For once, I don’t have a favorite character. I was more fascinated by the little stories that seemed to make up a big one.

I did like a lot of things about the book, though. Mira, short for Mirabelle, really was a special girl. Lots of girls can probably relate to her lifestyle, especially if they are dancers. She struggled through a lot and still came out strong, which is always admirable. I loved the way she got through each day, and then the next and the one after that. The way she ended up having to go to a special school just so she could dance more was interesting for me. It kind of reminded me of the show Dance Moms. Did any of you guys ever watch it?

Mira liked to be plain and neat and perfect, all while working hard and keeping secrets. What’s not to like here?

There is something that made me admire her less, but if I said so I’d spoil the whole story for you guys.

I think we’ll have to leave it at that. It wasn’t my favorite book, but I don’t regret reading it. There is always a lesson to be gained from every story. I don’t think I will ever forget this one.

Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this book to everyone unless you are older than fourteen. I do think a teenage and older audience would love Girl Through Glass.

3-stars.png

Thank you for reading! I had a really hard time writing this review. Comments are appreciated and always responded to. Share the link with a friend who loves to read.heart.jpg

Leave a Reply

