Review: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

I feel like I have been reading so slowly lately, and I’m at the negative point where I doubt I will reach my goal of 100 books this year. But then I remind myself: it’s much better to fully enjoy one book than to skim through 100. So even if I only read one more book this year, I think it will be worth it. I interpret every story so deeply and try to bring something out of everything I read. I’m trying to encourage everyone to do the same, to find quality instead of following the norm. Even if I have been feeling awful lately, I really hope all the readers out there can gain something if they ever see my blog.

Also, I’m not incredibly proud of the pictures I tried to take of the cover of my most recent read for you guys, but I did at least put in an effort.

Without further ado, here it is.

IMG_6266.JPG

 

Title: An Ember in the Ashes

Author: Sabaa Tahir

Page count: 446

Publisher: Razor Bill (branch of Penguin Random House)

Released: April 28, 2015

Is there a sequel: Yes, it’s called A Torch Against the Night, and I will be reading it eventually.

Will there be a movie: Apparently so

What’s it about?

The book’s been out for a while, so I’d be surprised if you haven’t heard of it. I was surprised that I didn’t pick it up until recently, because I’d been drooling over it. Basically, it switches between the point of view of Laia, a slave, and Elias, a soldier. Both of them have secrets that could get them killed. The world they live in is dystopian-ish, and their “country” is called the empire. It’s divided into Scholars and Martials. Believe it or not, the Scholars are the low-lifes and slaves. The Martials mostly go Blackcliff, a military academy, where they train to become the most hardcore soldier- a mask.

What I also love about the world in An Ember in the Ashes is the magical creatures that exist. You have Augurs, jinns, ghuls, and other creepy characters.

What do you assume will happen when Laia and Elias meet?

I can tell you there’s more than one love interest for each of them, and the loyalty tore my heart into pieces.

Helene is by far my favorite character in the whole novel, because she was one of few girls training to be a Mask, yet the strongest. She also did have a hidden girly side, as you’ll find out. Her friendship with Elias seemed like goals, but near the end it was far from perfect. I wish things would have gone better for Helene. Definitely a fictional character I’d love to meet one day.

I also grew to have a soft spot for Izzi and Cook. It feels great to have the main characters ranked below three others on your favorites list…

Another thing I loved about An Ember in the Ashes was the great distraction it’s able to provide. Nothing was boring, and it was easy to dive into.  It may be repetitive since I say this all the time, but there’s nothing better than a book you can’t pull away from. If you’re ever sad, read An Ember in the Ashes.

Because I could find absolutely nothing wrong with this wonderful novel, I give itimgres.jpg

That’s all I have for now! I’m trying to give my blog posts more quality as well, making them concise rather than rambling on for 2000 words about something I could say shorter.

Thanks for reading! Share my blog with a friend ❤

Leave a Reply

