Review: Cruel Crown by Victoria Aveyard

That’s right, two reviews in one day. It’s how I roll.

IMG_6051

Shout out to my puppy for being a super cute model.

To start off, you should know that Cruel Crown is composed of two novellas. They are, actually, prequels to the Red Queen series I am always raving about. I’m going to review each story separately, even though they are glued together under the same cover.

Also, this will be a short review. It’s hard to talk about prequels without giving away important information about the books they are prequels too. Hopefully that’s not too confusing.

The first little novella in Cruel Crown is called Queen Song.  It’s from the point of view of Queen Coriane, King Tiberias’s first wife. If you’ve read Red Queen, it’s understood that Queen Elena did something awful to her. That’s why Cal and Maven are half brothers. Once again, I’m really sorry if this makes no sense to you! Corine keeps a secret diary given to her by Julian, her brother, of whom I love. He’s just super cool and scholarly. In the diary, she writes about meeting the prince, Tiberias, and having their little boy. She also grieves about the possibly deadly consequences that could occur from her marrying so high.

Queen Song was my favorite one, and I gave it four stars.

four-stars (1)

I really found the story intriguing and tragic. After finishing it, I just kind of sat there, staring and thinking. I didn’t start Steel Scars, the second novella, right away.

Steel Scars is Farley’s story, and to be honest with you, I didn’t care for it. I’ll give it one star.

one star review star

Farley is a part of the Scarlet Guard, and she is given orders to plant the rebellion. She’s meant to be recruiting people, and suddenly she comes across Mare Barrow, the main character of Red Queen. It ties together.

I’m sorry for such a bad review. I sat here awhile on my laptop struggling to find the words without revealing too much.

I will say that they provide nice explanations for some things that happen in Red Queen and will help me to understand more in the sequel, Glass Sword, that is actually coming out soon. I am beyond ecstatic to see what will happen, because I hold Red Queen close to my heart and told everybody to read it!

After the two novellas, Cruel Crown included the first three chapters of Glass Sword. Does it surprise you that I did not read them? I saw no point, if I will have the novel in its entirety in my hands next month.

I wanted to show you guys my book haul from yesterday. I went to Half Price Books and got NINE books!

IMG_6389

As you can see, I bought a combination of classics and new bestsellers. I can’t wait to dig in.

As always, thank you for reading. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

