Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Holy moly! I have a million thoughts on A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Let me give you some facts on it first.

page count:416

genre: fantasy

publishing company: bloomsbury

A Court of Thorns and Roses entails Feyre (pronounced “Fay-ruh”), a teenage huntress, and a mortal, who is whisked away to faerie realms when she accidentally kills a faerie disguised as a wolf. At the Spring Court of Prythian, this fictional world, Feyre discovers her captor is actually ruler of the Spring Court, Tamlin. Feyre also learns that the faerie world is struggling with the wrath of a blight. Soon enough, her rage at Tamlin for taking her away from the family she must provide food for is changed into another sort of passion- love.

a court of thorns and roses

Here’s what the cover looks like. Want to know a secret? I hate the art on this novel! I picked it up because I recognized the author’s name from her other popular series, Throne of Glass (it’s on my TBR, I swear!). It’s a prime example of “don’t judge a book by its cover.”

I have only one more rude thing to say about the book. For the first 100 or so pages, I didn’t particularly like it. I was kind of on and off about it. At points I described it as “like an awfully written fanfiction on Wattpad.” Those are the exact words I put in my notes, and now I would take them back in a heartbeat! Don’t worry, I’m not criticizing all fanfics (I love to read them), but I just felt that the author wasn’t doing too well. Lots of cliches were present. I thought she was copying The Hunger Games towards the beginning with the very first scene being Feyre hunting in the woods. The curse in A Court of Thorns and Roses is exactly like the one in Beauty and the Beast, although I have not been able to find out if it’s intentional. Please correct me if I’m wrong on any of these facts about Sarah J. Maas and her intentions.

I lied; there is one more negativity I spotted while reading, especially at the beginning: FEYRE IS ILLITERATE, YET MAAS PUTS SUCH FANCY WORDS IN HER MOUTH!!!!! I kept having to consult my dictionary or the Internet.

There, the mean part of my review is over with. Now for the good stuff. I felt obligated to include how I felt during the first chapters, but after finishing the story, I bumped my review up two whole stars.

four-stars (1)

The fact that Maas could change my views in under 300 pages is astounding. I absolutely fell in love with Feyre and Tamlin’s story!  There is going to be a movie based on ACOTAR, and I am ecstatic.

One thing I really loved was the pronunciation guide in the back of the book. To all the book characters whose names I’ve pronounced wrong: I’m so sorry.

More reasons I liked ACOTAR (there’s tons of them):

There was a sort of plot twist I did not see coming AT ALL, which is always a bonus worth at least half a star. It was also a pretty spectacular plot twist, and Maas is extremely clever for coming up with the idea!

The romantic tension between Feyre and Tamlin made you go into the next chapter (and the one after that!) craving for more.

I feel like the bad things in this review overrode the good things, but that’s because I can’t give too much away without a spoiler.

Much more of ACOTAR was lovable. 🙂

As always, thank you for reading. I appreciate any comments.

 

Leave a Reply

