Review: This is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

***This is Where It Ends is an ARC sent to me by Sourcebooks Publishing. It will be coming out early in 2016. 🙂 ***

Hey guys! I know I said my next review would be These Shallow Graves, but this lovely ARC came in the mail one day looking so enticing I just had to pick it up, and I ended up finishing it the same night (it was only 282 pages, and many of the pages just had tweets or text messages on them. Most of the pages were not long.).

The description on the jacket was FANTASTIC, so I thought I’d do something different and show you it.

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

Doesn’t that make you want to read it right now??

Throughout reading this, I was terrified. School violence is growing despite the new securities many schools have placed. At my old school, we had to evacuate due to a bomb threat. Luckily, it was just that- a threat. Another school in my area had a stabbing, and I don’t think anyone will forget the shootings at Newton and Columbine. Books like This is Where It Ends  should NOT be banned; in fact, they can help kids. By reading this book, I learned a bit about how to defend myself from a shooter and prevent certain scenarios from happening. I’m not sure how it would affect victims of school violence, but I don’t think they should be “protected” from it. In some ways, it could help these people to move past their experience and provide closure. Trying to prevent someone from reading a book will only want to make them read it more.  If you know someone who could potentially bring a weapon to school, speak up now.

I didn’t mean to go on for so long about that! Anyways, while This is Where It Ends  was sad and scary, I loved it. I award  it

four and a half stars

IMG_5640

You can see the steam leaving my cup! Look how beautiful the cover art is.

I cannot say much else without releasing a spoiler, so we’ll leave it at that.

I recommend this book to anyone over the age of thirteen.

Thank you for reading! Let me know what you think in the comments. Blog later!

 

Leave a Reply

