Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (Finally!!!!)

Before I begin, please note that the sequel, Glass Sword, is coming out on February 9th, and I am internally dying. 🙂

IMG_5624

Look how beautiful even the cover of this book is! I’m in love.

I’m going to start out by giving this book four and a half big ole stars.

four and a half stars

After all, it was nearly perfect, and don’t worry, because I will tell you why. I’m sure some of you have read or at least heard of Red Queen, because the novel by Victoria Aveyard is quickly growing popular, especially with the next book in the trilogy coming out soon. But in case you haven’t, YOU REALLY NEED TO, and I’ll give you a brief little summary.

In Red Queen, the world is divided by blood type- the Silvers and the Reds. Silvers are gods with each having their own special power, and they live a luxurious lifestyle. Reds, meanwhile, are merely servants who live to work. Mare Barrow is a Red, or so she thinks… When she ends up at the King’s palace pretending to be the prince’s betrothed, she discovers that she, too, has an ability just like the Silvers, the gods, or even stronger. Enter the Scarlet Guard, a terrorist group of Reds determined to take down the Silvers and of course want Mare to join.

You’ll be surprised, and the only thing I can promise you is harsh betrayal.

I was generally taken aback at the plot twist in the book, however there were some things I was expecting. In contrast, there were also some things that confused me (but I have it sworn I’ll never spoil anything for you guys). To be honest, that’s the only reason I could find to not give this book five stars. It’s not worth a great deduction, because the book was freaking fantastic.

Even before I finished Red Queen, I was telling you guys how I’m going to get married to it. I was just stunned at how much I instantly grew attached to it. I’m not kidding, I’m seriously the biggest fangirl of this book. You can fight me if you think you like it more!

Victoria Aveyard is one of the most amazing authors I have read the works of this year. Mare Barrow is the new Katniss Everdeen. I’m waiting for them to make this into a movie. Who knows, maybe they already are and I just don’t know about it.

Whoops I just googled it so I don’t give out false information, and apparently there is talk of it becoming a movie!

That aside, I could rave over Red Queen forever. I can’t believe it took me this long to read it! Where was I when it came out????? I’m sure I had my nose in some other book.

My emotions went wild while reading Mare Barrow’s tragedy turn into something only slightly less tragic. Aveyard has a knack for weaving a phenomenal story. The love, the passion, the trust, all crushed. My family members heard me screaming, “NO,NO, NO,” and then, “YES, YES, YES.” I just couldn’t believe it. There was one part I was literally on the edge of my seat. My heart was crushed, deflated, but by the end it was slightly inflated.

By the way, do you like the picture of me reading it? Let me know what you think.

I’m going to have a haul of the books I got over Christmas up soon, as well as a special post and a review of These Shallow Graves, once I finish it (I found it under the tree and started it just yesterday).

Thanks for reading! Share this post with a friend.

Byeeeeeeeee xx

Leave a Reply

