Review: Rumble by Ellen Hopkins

Ellen Hopkins’ books are pretty popular, and I’ve read several before, so when I saw Rumble at the library, I decided to pick it up. All the ones I’ve seen are written in prose, so while they’re pretty thick, they don’t take as long to read as expected. Most of the Ellen Hopkins books I’ve read have also been focused on more depressing matters, with characters who are struggling. This one was no different.rumbleCvr.jpg

The main character, Matthew Turner, has recently lost his younger brother, Luke, to suicide. Facts about his death are uncovered throughout the story. He’s dealing with family issues, and not to mention girlfriend issues. Matt is thinking about forgiveness when something unforgivable happens…

Rumble has a lot of thought-provoking ideas presented throughout it, like the idea of God and love. I have to say it’s made me think.

I’m not going to make this review so long, because my last blog post was practically as long as a novel, so we’ll keep this short and sweet: four stars, just because some things were really predictable based on the author’s writing style. We’re also going to end this blog post pretty quickly so you can go read it!

four-stars (1)

I haven’t read much prose/poetry in my life, so this was quite refreshing. I think I’ll have to start reading more of this style!

Stay tuned, because I may have a special blog post up tomorrow, and a review of Red Queen up later this week, plus lots over Christmas break!

Feel free to comment. Let me know what you’ve been reading!

Leave a Reply

