Review: Coming Home by Rosamunde Pilcher

THIS BOOK. THIS. BOOK. HAS TAKEN ME A WHOLE MONTH TO READ!!! In my defense, it’s almost one thousand pages long, and it’s been a busy month for me with school and the holidays. Anyways, I felt like Coming Home deserved a much longer review, since my blog followers have been waiting forever for me to finally finish it.

 

coming home

First of all, I must rate this book four stars.

four-stars (1)

 

 

 

 

As Judith grows into a twenty-something year old woman, the war is on full blast and she begins to wonder if she’ll ever see her real family again, meanwhile falling in love (once or twice!). By the time I finished it, I was a sad wreck, probably because I read the last chapter in the wee hours of the night.

Overall, Coming Home is a book I would recommend to anyone. Even though the cover makes it appear like a “Grandma book”, as I first said when my mom told me to read it, the old saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover” became truer than ever. I’ve never read a Woman’s Romance novel before, and all the stereotypes placed around that genre are UNTRUE. There’s so much more to these stories than simply that. Sure, the love will have you sobbing, but there’s layers of depth you cannot find anywhere else.

I fell in love with this book.

One criticism I do have, and it’s the reason I took one star off my rating: THE MIDDLE OF THE BOOK WAS SOOOOOO BORING!!!! World War II was anything but boring, yet somehow Rosamunde Pilcher made it the most boring thing to read about ever. I’ve mentioned in preview posts how much I love reading books about this particular war, so that’s saying something.

Coming Home is incredible for its gripping tale and beautiful tone.

There’s been something I have wanted to include in a blog post for quite some time, but it never felt like the right time. With this amazing novel in mind, now is the perfect time.

I absolutely adore talking about characters, so I decided to write a brief analysis of some of my favorites in Coming Home, as well as places, because each home has a soul in the book.

Judith Dunbar: I saw Judith grow up and change, over a course of about twelve years. It was hard to envision her as a WREN for the navy during the war after spending time with her as a school student in a hideous uniform. I was always cheering her on, and I can picture her in my head. She was so smart, yet a bit cliche. It feels weird saying that about the main character of a novel, but it’s true. I imagined her as Sandy from Grease, if that helps at all.

Loveday Carey-Lewis: Loveday went a bit crazy towards the middle/end, but I had hope for her. When Judith first met her, I knew they were going to end up impacting each other’s lives. Who knew they would end up as best friends, as well as sisters? Loveday in love was the greatest thing ever.

Edward Carey-Lewis: At first, I liked Edward. He seemed to be a smart and quirky guy. His character ending up tragically, but even by then I did not like him one bit.

Diana and Colonel Carey-Lewis: Each of them probably deserves their own section, but the Colonel was so quiet and hardly ever said anything. He was a polite gentleman. Shy, but polite. He always knew the manly and gentle thing to say. As for Diana, I thought she might have been a bit trashy but I loved her anyways. A true mother figure.

Athena Carey-Lewis: Aloof. For some reason that’s what comes to my head. Athena seemed to be floating on the clouds, and quite vain too. She follows stereotypes for women.

Mary Millyway: I love Mary so so so so much!!!! She was the sweetest nanny ever. My best memory of her from the book is when she comforted Judith after a depressing heartbreak. I may even take some of her words to advice some day! I will truly miss Mary.

Nettlebed: He didn’t really seem to be that important of a character, and I got a bit bored whenever they talked about him. I know he was important to Nancherrow, being the butler, and he was a kind, trustworthy guy, but that’s about all I can say.

Ms. Catto: Headmaster goals. She was the Head Mistress at St. Ursula’s, and the way she cared so much for Judith with all the family issues made me love her.

Gus Callendar: Gus was somebody everybody loved, especially Loveday. He was especially known for his artwork, and throughout the novel I was hoping he would do something with it. Despite devastation, I was pretty happy with Gus’s character by the end.

Jeremy Wells: I first met Jeremy on the train, and he became a constant character in this book, however unexpected. For some reason, I never swooned over him like I imagined many others did while reading, but he didn’t seem like a bad guy. I noticed he was self- conscious, and I believe it must have to do with feeling like he needs to follow his father’s footsteps and be a successful doctor. Overall, I’m pretty iffy about Jeremy.

Biddy and Bob Somerville: Bob and Biddy were so kind to Judith. I know how much she loved them. I imagined them as pretty old people, even though Bob can’t have been too old, for he was a commander as well. I’m willing to love anyone Judith loves.

Nancherrow:  A place even better than Wuthering Heights. The descriptions of this home were beautiful. Once again, I fell into love. Nancherrow is a place I would love to be a part of. For so many people, it was a stable something to go back to.

Dower House: Judith was so proud to call Dower House her own. Once again, lovely descriptions. That’s something Pilcher was fantastic at.

Aunt Louise: Didn’t like her. She overlooked so much that was going on in Judith’s life. I feel sorry for Aunt Louise.

Jess Dunbar: She was only two ages: four, and fourteen. Having no transition between these ages drove me crazy, so I wasn’t able to connect them.

Molly Dunbar: Pilcher made Molly, Judith’s mother, seem like the stupidest lady on earth.  It infuriated me. I’m sure she was a good mother for the short time she had with Judith.

 

This is getting pretty lengthy, so I’ll leave you there. I just picked up a prose book from the library, and though it’s thick, there’s only like thirty words on each page because it’s a novel told in poem form. (Rumble by Ellen Hopkins). I’ve read some of hers before, and they’ve all been fantastic, so I’m excited to start it. It should be a breeze to read and highly entertaining as well. I’ll have a review up in a few days. I should also get started on some more ARCs I was sent….

 

Bye for now! Thanks for reading, if you got this far without being bored to death.

 

Leave a Reply

