Book Review: Love Letters to the Dead

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira is a spunky tale full of new beginnings, love, and laughter despite the hardships the main character goes through. Laurel is a teenage girl starting high school who is still mourning the loss of her crazy older sister, May. This novel is told exclusively through letters Laurel writes to famous dead people, like Kurt Cobain, Amy Winehouse, and Judy Garland. Laurel’s English teacher gave an assignment to write letters to a dead person, but for Lauren it slowly developed into a journal. As she meets eccentric new friends at her school, Laurel recounts it all in these letters. Nothing is held back, even her crush on bad boy Sky.  By the end of the novel, readers will see Laurel grow up and come to terms with her sister’s death.

I would absolutely give Love Letters to the Dead five stars due to the relatable character Laurel provides. Most young girls could learn a lesson or two from her. This book is simply hard to put down, and I found myself crying! Because it hooked me, I finished Love Letters to the Dead in under a day, almost a record for me. I would recommend this brilliant novel to anyone, young or old, because I truly believe any person could find their heart in the story. Not a moment went by that bored me in any way, because with each turn of the page revealed a surprise. I must admit I thought it would be a bit cliché, but I found the truth to be quite the opposite. Also, the book opened me up to new music I have never given a chance, something a book has never done before, for me at least.img_6290imgres.jpg

Some personal favorite quotes of mine from the novel:

“I think a lot of people want to be someone, but we are scared that if we try, we won’t be as good as everyone imagines we could be.”

 

“What I told you about saving people isn’t true. You might think it is, because you might want someone else to save you, or you might want to save someone so badly. But no one else can save you, not really. Not from yourself. […] You fall asleep in the foothills, and the wolf comes down from the mountains. And you hope someone will wake you up. Or chase it off. Or shoot it dead. But when you realize that the wolf is inside you, that’s when you know. You can’t run from it. And no one who loves you can kill the wolf, because it’s part of you. They see your face on it. And they won’t fire the shot.”

 

“And maybe what growing up really means is knowing that you don’t have to be just a character, going whichever way the story says. It’s knowing you could be the author instead.”

 

“You can be noble and brave and beautiful and still find yourself falling.”

5 comments

  1. Olivia Ashryver · November 24, 2015

    Great review! Thanks for all the sweet comments on my blog. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  2. Ashleigh · November 25, 2015

    Great review!
    I love how you included
    quotes at the end 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

